Da Pasty Pie

March 21, 2010 § Leave a comment

And, in case you didn’t have enough pasties yet (you didn’t, did you?), here’s how to make your pasty dough and pasty filling into a pie instead, if, for instance, you are pressed for time. My regular pasty dough recipe is enough to make two whole pies, so divide it into four equal parts and roll each one out to the size of your pie pan.

Sometimes I pre-cook the meat and potatoes for my pasty filling, and sometimes I don’t. Yesterday I was in a hurry, which is how I decided to make this into a pie in the first place, so I used everything raw – raw cubed potatoes, raw onions, and raw venison hamburger.

This pasty dough by the way is extremely easy to roll – a far cry from a regular pie crust on the account of the pasty dough’s high water content.

Brush the top with a beaten egg.

With a very sharp knife and a firm resolve in your heart, cut slits in the top crust to allow the steam to escape during baking. And just because it’s cute.

Bake in a preheated 350-degree oven for 45 min or until the top is golden and the potatoes are cooked (which you can test through the slits. See how handy they are?)

You think it’s time I renamed this blog “Da Pasty Blog”?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Da Pasty Pie at The Girl's Guide to Guns and Butter.

meta